Holiday Book Case Styling

IMG_6789

My holiday décor mostly consists of red and white with greenery thrown in.  It’s simple and to the point.  I like it that way.  Besides, red is my favorite color.  You can’t go wrong with RED!

When it came time to decorate our new home, I realized how much space I have to work with.  I mean, having never decorated this house before it was almost like a blank canvas!  I had no thoughts of “I put that there last year.” or “this is where the tree always goes.”  You know what I mean?

The space we use the most in our house is our keeping room.  It has two large bookcases surrounding a fireplace.  Let me tell you the truth.  Those bookcases intimidate me. I am awful at bookcase styling.  I don’t like clutter, but I don’t want them to look empty.  Is it too much or too little?  It is a delicate balance that I try very hard to achieve.  I actually think I may have done well this Christmas!

IMG_6790

First I began by taking everything down except the baskets and fresh eggs sign.  Then I added in the red.  Only accessories I had that were red and only books with red covers.

IMG_6780   IMG_6783

I filled glass containers with red and white ornaments.

IMG_6789

And lanterns with berries and ornaments.

IMG_6796

Then it all came together.  (someday I’ll learn how to take a straight picture!)

IMG_6786

(See my sweet pup… he’s recovering from some surgery.  I love him!)

Sharing at:

http://www.oneprojectcloser.com/the-humble-brag-link-party-48/

Leave a comment