Day 21: Use What You’ve Got

This 31 day series on Getting It Together has really opened my eyes.  I can finally see what systems are working in my house (pantry organization, for example) and what isn’t working (keeping my desk clean).  What I have found is that I’m not using what I’ve got. 

For example, the family drop zone was not getting used.  I created it specifically to contain school and household related clutter.  No so much.  We weren’t using it like we should.  The mail was piling up in the baskets and the dry erase calendar was erased.

photo 3

So I finally put it to use.

photo 1 (2)

The family menu, on the side of the fridge was also erased.

photo 1 (3)

Not any more.

photo 2 (2)

I have been wondering why, oh why, can’t I get everything done that I need to while the kids are at school.  And if I do, why is it undone by 3:45 pm.  Of course!  The little critters aren’t cleaning up after themselves!    I wasn’t using their chore charts.

photo 3 (2)

Now I am.  They will need to be retrained on the whole chore thing, but eventually it will work! (fingers crossed!)

photo 2 (3)

I still have lots of baskets lying around that could be used for other purposes.  I have bags that can go to Goodwill.  And I have closets that need organizing.  In 10 more days.  Do you think I can do it?

One thought on “Day 21: Use What You’ve Got

  1. When I had the littles, and homes schooling and home keeping to tackle – I used to say this verse to myself while I was tackling the mountains –

    Philippians 4:13
    I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

    It might help you – and it certainly won’t hurt! 🙂

Leave a Reply

