Day 19: Eating Healthy

I am not a high energy person.  I require at least 8 hours of sleep (Prince Charming will tell you I need 9 or 10) in order to be a pleasant person.  I am not a morning person.  I LOOOOOVE coffee.  Don’t speak to me before I’ve had a cup of coffee! 

funny Coffee Mug, Don't even talk ceramic Coffee Cup MUG-012

(Available on Etsy)

If, for some reason I stay up too late (the Boston Red Sox have a late game), I spend the next day eating lots of sugar and drinking coffee just to be productive.  I know this is all wrong!  I do want to change it. 

We have some very unhealthy eating habits around here.  We like junk food in this house.  We don’t eat enough fruits and vegetables.  I would like to change it.  So I’m putting it out there for everyone in blogland to see. 

We will get it together by eating healthier, as a family!

Our biggest flaw is our snack items.  My kids go straight for the chips and the crackers.  Not fruit or yogurt.  This hit me a few nights ago when I was reading to my kiddos at bedtime.  The princess had gotten a new book I Believe in Genevieve by Jenny Craig.  Yes, that Jenny Craig.  It’s a story about Jenny and her slow sluggish horse.  Through hard work, exercise and eating well, both Jenny and her horse perform better.  Yes, I thought.  That is true. 

(available through Amazon)

Now, I know its going to take some effort.  I’ll have to cut up fruit and veggies in advance so they are easy to access after school.  I will have to not buy the Cape Cod potato chips that I love.  I will have to drink more water and less coffee. (Caffeine headache, anyone?)  But I will do it, because it is good for my family.  So here are some healthy afterschool snack ideas that I have found.

Rainbow Fruit Skewers

Vegetable Crudité with Hummus

Super Smoothie (frozen tropical fruit blend, spinach and water)

Lactose free cheese and crackers (Cabot cheese is lactose free!)

Plain Popcorn sprinkled with a little butter and sea salt

Yogurt covered raisins

I think that I need to go to Trader Joe’s.  I have heard that they have amazingly healthy snack items.  We don’t live near one, so you have to plan to go there.  I will put it on my calendar. 

Then I’ll need to reorganize the pantry!

3 thoughts on “Day 19: Eating Healthy

  1. You can do it! We pretty much only shop at Trader Joes. Start small and work into it. Maybe decide you will cut out all foods with artificial anything and preservatives. Make a few brand switches to begin with and incorporate some fun “new” snacks with the super healthy ones. We need to get better with veggies in this house. I slack on this b/c we do greens powders in our protein shakes, but we need to actually LIKE the taste of some healthy stuff. I’ll send you my friends new blog on health stuff. You will like it.

    • I will take any and all protein shake recipes! Adding protein powder always seems to change the way my shakes taste. I think I’ll take the kids with me to Trader Joes and let them choose snacks. Or send them to your house! :-). Looking forward to reading your friends blog!

      • Jackson loves the snacks from Trader Joe’s. Just watch out for the ice cream cookie sandwiches (not everything is healthy)!

        Plus many of their meats are organic and hormone free.

Leave a Reply

