Day 17: Magazines and Catalogs

I don’t know about you, but I get a ton of magazines and catalogs.  And I love them, or the idea of them.  I imagine curling up on the couch with my new Traditional Home or Southern Living magazine and a cup of coffee, lazily thumbing through it.  How often does that happen?  Not very often.  What usually happens is the magazines and catalogs pile up on my coffee table and then I take a huge stack in the car and race through them in carpool line, dog-earing pages that I want to revisit when I have “time”.

photo 3 (3)

photo 1 (3) 

Now I have a system so that there aren’t so many publications lying around and I can hold on to the stuff I’ve dog-eared.  (Although Pinterest helps.)  First, I tear out the pages and sometimes I write on them: “great chair” or “lighting idea” or “artwork”, just to help me remember why I tore it out. 

photo 2 (3)

I have these large binders that I keep all of my ideas in.  There are 2 of them and I’m pretty sure I’m going to need another.  They are divided into categories such as “Living Rooms” or “Children’s Rooms” or “DIY”.  Each page that I tear out gets put into a clear sheet protector and put into the binder under the category necessary.

photo 2 (4)     photo 1 (4)photo 3 (4)   photo 4 (3)

Now I have a quick reference whenever I need some decorating inspiration (other than Pinterest), or I want to re-read how to paint a ceramic lamp from Goodwill.  And I can store these binders neatly in a cabinet.  My magazines and catalogs I just tear and toss.  No more clutter all over my coffee table.  Well, for now.

photo

3 thoughts on “Day 17: Magazines and Catalogs

Leave a Reply

