Day 15: The Catch-up Day

Funny Workplace Ecard: I'm taking a mental health day to evaluate why I'm still working here.

Everyone needs these kinds of days.  A day to regroup and get it together.  The laundry is overflowing.  The carpet needs to be vacuumed.  The beds need to be changed.  The dog needs a long run.  No new projects today.  Just get things done around the house so they don’t begin to consume you.

I think a catch-up day is necessary at least once a month.  Think about it.  Plans change.  Something comes up.  We get busy and the days get away from us.  Suddenly we look around and we feel chaotic again.  The best way to eliminate that feeling is to tackle the issue.  Take a day of doing nothing else but catching up on stuff that you’ve let go.

Chaos makes me anxious.  Anxiety makes me cranky and irrational.  For the well being of my whole family I need to minimize chaos.  Today I will be putting away mounds of folded laundry.  I will be wiping down the kitchen counters.  I will be generally putting items away in their rightful places.  I will be responding to emails.  And making appointments that I’ve neglected to make.  I will be catching up on those items that I have let go.  Then I will feel “together”…. Until I need the next catch-up day!

One thought on “Day 15: The Catch-up Day

Leave a Reply

