Feature Wall in My Daughter’s Room

The little princess has a favorite color.  That color is purple.  (and sometimes pink and turquoise)  When we moved, we let her decide what color to paint her room.  Guess what she chose!

Yep.  Purple!  Not a subtle lavender or anything, but knock you out purple.  The actual color is Kismet by Sherwin Williams. 

Pottery Barn Kids had a duvet in the exact purple of the paint with white paisley on it.  I ordered it right away and couldn’t wait to surprise the princess with a new bed in her new room!  When I put it all together I realized something – that’s a lot of purple!

I had to do something to break up all that purple.  I had the thought of mimicking the paisley on the duvet up onto the wall.  And leave it to Martha Stewart to have the exact paisley I wanted!

image I purchased this silk screen kit at Michaels.

I had some left over paint samples from when I was testing whites for my trim.  I decided to use Marshmallow by Sherwin Williams because it had a hint of pink in it.  I also mixed in some Valspar paint crystals to add some sparkle.  And I picked up some adhesive rhinestones. 

finley's stencil 1finley's stencil 2

As you can see, the “self adhesive” part of the silk screen quickly wore off so some painters tape was needed. 

finley's stencil 4finley's stencil 3

When the paint dried I placed one rhinestone in the center of each stencil.

finley's wall

The wall was complete.

finley's wall 2

And the princess was happy!

Leave a Reply

