An Unanticipated Package

IMG_5724

The other evening the doorbell rang.  I knew it was UPS because the dog was going nuts!  (They always leave a bone with the package.)

I wasn’t expecting anything.  I have been a good girl and haven’t done (much) online shopping. 

When I looked at the package I saw that it was from my mom.  Hmmmm.  What would she be sending.  Then it hit me!  She finally send that antique sifter I found at an antique mall in Maine over the summer.  Yippee!  I could complete my dining room wall décor!

We always had an antique grain sifter hanging on the wall in the kitchen when I was growing up.  Occasionally it was embellished with silk flowers or some other ornament, but when I got a home of my own my parents gave it to me.  They weren’t hanging it up anymore.

IMG_5729

At my old house it made its home among some antique replica wine barrels from Ballard Designs that hung above my TV.  I only had 2 of the barrels.  There was a third one that was very large and very expensive.

IMG_2711

Then, while on my design inspiration trip to Atlanta, I found the largest barrel on sale at the Ballard Designs outlet and just had to complete the trio!

So, when I moved, I decided that the dining room would be the perfect place to decorate with these circular objects.  But something was missing.  I just couldn’t get them to look right.  It was just off.  So these circles of decoration sat on my dining room floor – for 4 months!!!

Off we went on our yearly trip to Maine.  When we are up there one of my favorite things to do I to go antiquing with my mom.  We take the coastal route and hit some beautiful shops along the ocean.  My favorite is the Searsport Antique Mall.  I always find more than one good thing there!  And just as we got to the last booth, I saw it.  A smaller sifter that would complete my dining room wall!!!

IMG_5725

Oh, it was perfect!  But it wouldn’t fit in my luggage and it was too fragile to shove in the overhead compartment on the plane.  So I had to wait for it to arrive.  And now it’s here!

IMG_5730

I hung it up immediately!

IMG_5731

Leave a Reply

