Southern Summer Sipper

IMG_5626

On my last beach vacation to Kiawah Island, SC, my family had dinner at a fantastic BBQ place on the island.  All of the meats are smoked in house and all of the sauces are made in house.  Even better, this year they had a new cocktail menu.  I tried a cocktail called the Black Buffalo because I was intrigued by two of its ingredients: basil and balsamic vinegar.  Seriously?!  I a cocktail!  I had to try it.  I knew it would back a punch because it was made with Kentucky Bourbon.  But what goes better with real barbeque, but bourbon?

Needless to say, it was delicious.  But once we got home I couldn’t remember what else was in it.  I knew it wasn’t all bourbon and balsamic!  I tried a little concoction of my own.  It tasted very similar so I was thrilled.  I’m not going to steal their name, the Black Buffalo, but I like Black and Basil.

IMG_5625

Black and Basil

1 shot Kentucky Bourbon

1 large basil leaf, torn into smaller pieces

1 tsp. good balsamic vinegar

Juice of 1/2 a lime

Ginger Ale

Place the torn up basil in a rocks glass and fill with ice.  Add the bourbon and balsamic.  Fill to the top with ginger ale and squeeze in the lime.  Stir and sip.

 

I have visions of this going perfectly with a grilled steak and a balsamic reduction sauce.  I’m going to have to try that!  Soon!

Leave a Reply

