Breakfast Area–Before & After

IMG_5551

I redid my breakfast area at the same time as the kitchen and keeping room.  I have been waiting on some finishing touches – curtains, accessories and the like.  Now I am ready to share.

This is the before:

IMG_4033IMG_4037

Just look at all that brown and the light fixture.  I think NASA is missing a satellite!  The space felt very dark and heavy even though there are windows along 2 walls.

And the during:

IMG_4082IMG_4083

I had the built in buffet area spray lacquered in black.  The cabinets are glass front so I left those.  The inside of the cabinets were left alone as well.  The kitchen table I had bought was the same tone and I thought they would look great together.  I had also purchased a light fixture so I could get rid of that behemoth!  It was soooo overpowering for that small space.

Now my breakfast area looks like this:

IMG_5546

IMG_5557

I just love it!!!  The mixed chairs make it feel casual and comfortable.  The curtains are a great pop of color and tie in nicely with the keeping room.  The table is from Bramble Co.  The wicker chairs are from IKEA, although I haven’t seen them in a while.  The x-back chairs are from a local store called the Brass Exchange.

IMG_5116

This beauty is the new chandelier.  It is the Lourdes chandelier from Ballard Designs.  It matches well with the Lucas pendant over the kitchen island.

IMG_5541

I am thrilled with the way it turned out.  The space is so bright and cheerful.  It suits my family so well.  And the Food and Friends sign, from Pottery Barn years ago, is exactly what my kitchen is all about.  Family, too!

 

Sharing At:  One Project Closer

8 thoughts on “Breakfast Area–Before & After

Leave a Reply

