Girl Power Art

As I have been decorating my daughters room, I have found that I am very picky when it comes to art.  I like signs, things with words, meaningful words.  And for a little girl you can’t always put up Barbie (although I did), princesses and ballerinas.  I want my daughter to grow up feeling confident and being classy.  She isn’t in to sports, so the usual “girl power” stuff won’t work.  (Sorry, Nike!)  She is a dancer and an artist, a true performer in all ways.  And, of course, a girly girl.  Only dresses and skirts – every day!  She even wears faux pearls with her school uniform! 

 

IMG_4225IMG_4226IMG_4230

I started off with spray paint in the colors of her room.  Just the accent colors though, because her room is PURPLE!  I got some pre-cut mats and white frames from Hobby Lobby.

IMG_4227IMG_4228IMG_4229

I found some quotes that I liked and some cute girly silhouettes and made my own art using Microsoft Word.  All the clip art was free. 

Here are the quotes –

“Keep your head, heels and standards high!”

“A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous!” – Coco Chanel

“Always remember you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem and smarter than you think.” – Winnie the Pooh

IMG_4232IMG_4235IMG_4240

Then I sprayed the frames and mats in varying colors.  Once they were dry, I set up shop at the kitchen table and just using scotch tape, I stuck my MS Word art to the back of the mats.

IMG_4262IMG_4263

IMG_4265

I placed them in the frame and hung them up.  Viola!  I think the total project cost me $50 and took about 90 minutes (not including drying time). 

IMG_4933IMG_4935

I will share my daughters room in its totality when I’m done.  I have some other tricks up my sleeve!  Smile

5 thoughts on “Girl Power Art

Leave a Reply

