Caprese Chicken and Creamy Quinoa

IMG_4850

So here is the truth – when I create a dinner, I don’t know how it is going to turn out.  I’m not a chef, I’m just a gal who likes to cook.  I throw stuff together and hope for the best!  Last night when I made dinner, I didn’t photograph the process because I didn’t know if it would be “blog-worthy”.  But when Prince Charming took the first bite he proclaimed that it was the best meal I had made in a while.  Wow!  It was pretty simple too, so I guess I’ve been slacking! 

Everything in our house lately has to revolve around basil and tomatoes.  Our little container gardens are producing an abundance of the stuff!  I’m not complaining! 

IMG_4849

Caprese Chicken

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts

balsamic vinaigrette salad dressing

1/2 C fresh basil

1/4 C extra virgin olive oil

1/4 C parmesan cheese, shredded or grated

1 clove garlic

1 medium tomato, sliced

1 C shredded mozzarella

Marinate chicken in the balsamic salad dressing for at least 2 hours.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees. 

Make your pesto – combine basil, EVOO, parmesan, and garlic and blend with an immersion blender until it makes a thick sauce.  I like my pesto thick, not runny.

Put chicken in an oven safe dish and bake for 20 minutes.  Take it out and layer with pesto first,  then slices of tomato and then the mozzarella.  Bake for another 15 minutes until the cheese is all melty and gooey.

Creamy Quinoa

1 C quinoa

2 C chicken broth

1 small tomato, diced

1 clove garlic, minced

1/4 C shredded parmesan

1/4 C heavy cream

Put quinoa and chicken broth in a pot and bring to a boil.  Once boiling, reduce heat to low and cover.  Simmer for 20 minutes or until all broth is absorbed.  Turn off the heat.  Stir in the tomato, garlic, parmesan and cream until well combined. 

Serve up the chicken atop the quinoa.

Leave a Reply

