Keeping Room–Before & After

IMG_4281

I feel as though I just moved in to my house yesterday!  I’ve been working so hard on just trying to get unpacked, purging unwanted items and organizing this house for the way we live that I’ve forgotten to share with you all of the work that has been done.

This house has a keeping room (or hearth room or family room) which is a smaller family room right off the kitchen.  I love it!!!  It is the main gathering area for the family.  I can be in the kitchen cooking and still see everything and everyone.

Here are the before pictures.  As you can see, the built-ins were the same color as the kitchen cabinets and there was carpet.  Oh, and the walls were green.

DSCN0132

IMG_4036

We were going to keep the carpet and just let the kids and dog destroy it, but upon further inspection we found that it was already destroyed.  You can kind of see that it was much lighter under where the previous owners couch used to be.  And it smelled of their dogs.  Prince Charming and I agreed that no amount of carpet cleaning could undo that.  So, we decided to put in hardwood floors to match the rest of the house.

IMG_4103IMG_4104

I had the bookcases painted in Creamy and Urbane Bronze on the inside, both by Sherwin Williams.  I love the way they turned out.  And check out the floors, pre-stain.  They added such a great flow to the kitchen and keeping room.  I didn’t realize what an impact they would have until they were in.  Awesome!!

DSCN0166DSCN0165

These little wing chairs got a make-over for the keeping room as well.  I grew up with these chairs in my home and my parents gave them to me last year.  They sat in my garage last year while I figured out what to do with them.  When we moved, it was time for their big Ta-Da!  I had them reupholstered in a wonderful greige fabric I found at the Metrolina Expo.

IMG_4274IMG_4284

Didn’t they turn out great!?

IMG_4278IMG_4661

The medallion pillows I had custom made out of remnant fabric I found and yellow, iridescent burlap.  Who could pass that up?  The coffee table was a find on Rue La La and the rug came from Overstock.com.

IMG_4667IMG_4668

image imageimage

Trim and bookcases: Creamy        Walls: Kilim Beige             Back of bookcases:Urbane Bronze

All paint by Sherwin-Williams.

Also sharing at Thrifty Decor Chick.
15 thoughts on “Keeping Room–Before & After

  1. Thanks for sharing this beautiful room at Wow. I do need the link to the party in the post and not the comments. I was wondering how you joined the party without a link and then saw it in the comments. Also please copy the url from my blog page and not feedburner. I would love to feature this room next week if the changes get made.
    Thanks

  2. Pingback: My Love Affair With Navy | That Inspired Chick

  3. I love what you did. That must make you thrilled to see the outcome turn out so well. I’m getting ready to venture out in my master bedroom and I hope my results are as nice as yours. I’ve debated and debated what I want to do but I’m really wanting to get started. Finally!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

