Nantucket Style and Inspiration

I just love the coast, don’t you?  The sand, the sun, the breeze, the colors, the relaxed atmosphere… What’s not to live?!  Being a New Englander living in the South, I am torn.  The New England coast is gorgeous and relaxed.  It doesn’t get too hot (although it can), humidity is fairly low, and there is just an atmosphere that I can’t explain.  But I do think that Nantucket, off the coast of Massachusetts, really exemplifies that atmosphere. 

I just felt the need to lighten and brighten up my new house, perhaps it is the time of year, and I looked to this little island for some inspiration. 

 

(Above images all from Traditional Home)

(google.com)

 

(google.com)

(www.vrbo.com)

Nantucket Historic House for Rent

You can even rent this one!

Are you feeling inspired?!  I am!  The light and bright rooms, but not totally white.  Little bursts of color here and there.  Antiques mixed with comfy, upholstered pieces.  Traditional yet comfortable.  That is the look I am going for.  Next stop, the fabric store, oh and the paint store to pick up some samples, and the…..  I better stop now!

Leave a Reply

