Breakfast Area–Before & After

I have been reminiscing about my old house.  I think about all the little projects I did there.  It was a new home when we moved in so there weren’t odd spaces or old DIY stuff for me to tackle.  It was exactly the way we wanted it.  So most of the stuff I did to the house was decoration.  Adding this and that, painting, etc. 

This was our breakfast area when we first moved in:

100_2022

This was a homemade cornice above the window.  It added the much needed color to the space.  And the table and chairs were from World Market and took a lot of abuse from a toddler and infant.  But I loved the rug, which I got at Target and still have today.

IMG_3137

This is the breakfast area after the kiddos had grown up a bit.  They had destroyed the table and it never matched anyway so I painted it with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in Emperor’s Silk.  I bought a very ugly bench for around $50 and painted the legs the same color and upholstered it with a gorgeous fabric I found.  I think the fabric cost more than the bench!

IMG_2742

Isn’t it amazing what window treatments can do to a space?!  Prince Charming let me get rid of the boring white blinds and put in bamboo.  I didn’t tell him about the custom curtains until I brought them home.  He was upset until they went up, at that point he “got it”.  He’s coming around on the whole home decorating thing. Smile  The planters on the wall were purchased at HomeGoods.

A little sprucing made a big difference!  What have you done to your house lately?

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Area–Before & After

  1. I LOVE the patterned drapes and the gorgeous fabric on the bench! I would love to do a bench at our dining table AND patterned drapes but hubby is putting up a fight about both… maybe soon:)

Leave a Reply

