The Beauty of Greige

What is “greige” you ask?  The actual definition from dictionary.com is “Not bleached or dyed; unfinished. Used of textiles.”  My definition is that it’s a cross between grey and beige and IT IS FABULOUS!  It is so fabulous because it can be warm or cool, it matches everything, and it comes in many different shades.  I believe it is so popular right now because of the popularity of burlap and grain sacks.  It is the exact color of burlap and grain sacks. 

Traditional | Home Offices : Designer Portfolio : Candace Olsen  HGTV - Home & Garden Television

This room by Candice Olson is decidedly greige.  Look at the rug alone.  Shades of white, grey and beige.  And the grass cloth wallpaper, which is to die for, has many different tones of white, grey and beige. 

Beautiful.

A front entry done in greige can set the tone for an entire house.  Is it grey?  Is it beige?  Luckily it can be both!  (image via pinterest)

shelves

I adore this home office!  So soothing and relaxing.  I’m not sure I’d get any work done.  Just look at how the greige bookshelves make the antique books stand out. 

 

I could do without the sheep’s head on my wall, but the wall color paired with the creamy couch is very cozy.  And here’s some burlap for all of you lovers out there!

Here are some beautiful greige colors from Benjamin Moore.

                                

I love them all.  I’m thinking that Coastal Fog and Feather Down need to make an appearance in my next house.  How about you?  Are you going to go greige in 2013?

Leave a Reply

