Reupholstering We Go!

Christmas came early for me!  I just scored BIG at the ICA Show in Charlotte.  My favorite gal, Shannon,  and I finally made it to the show.  We never seem to have a weekend where we are both in town or not busy when the show is here.  But that day finally arrived and we made it to the show.  There are fabulous vendors there.  I found some custom furniture makers, custom lighting makers, junkers, vintage textile vendors, Miss Mustard Seed Milk Paint vendors (yay!), and just people with lots of stuff.  We were in heaven!

As we were walking around we spotted these:

WP_000765

We walked right by them at first.  They were very torn up.  There were cat scratches all over the upholstery and the cushions were thin.  So we made a lap around the outdoor area and ended up back at the chairs.  I decided to give them a shot and plunked right down in one.

WP_000766 It was comfy and I am a huge sucker for a wing chair.  Shannon asked the vendor how much he wanted for the pair.  When he said “$80 for the pair.”, we looked at each other and smiled.  Oh yes, they were leaving with us!  When the cushions were flipped up we saw the Highland House by Hickory tag.  These probably retailed for close to $1000 in their heyday. 

Right next to the vendor we bought the chairs from was a vendor selling remnant fabric.  We decided to head over and see if there was enough of a great fabric to reupholster these chairs in.  Score again!  All fabric was $5 per yard and we found a beautiful greige fabric with a slight sheen to it.  There was plenty to reupholster the 2 chairs so we paid up and loaded our treasures into the car. 

My new task is going to be refinishing the legs of the chairs and getting them over to be reupholstered.  I’m not sure if they are going to be kept or sold.  I’ll have to see them once they are complete.  But for now, here is the color story I’m going to use:

WP_000768

All of the fabric here is remnant fabric.  I feel like a little kid on Christmas morning!  I will post pics of the finished product.  Stay tuned!

One thought on “Reupholstering We Go!

Leave a Reply

