Refrigerator/Freezer Concoction

OK, so I never, NEVER, create my own recipes.  I’m just not that good.  But we are leaving town tomorrow for Thanksgiving and I didn’t want to do any grocery shopping.  I looked in the refrigerator this morning and found some fresh (sort of) sage, one onion, a half empty bottle of white wine (how did that happen?) and garlic.  In the freezer I had chicken thighs.  Soooo I had an idea – white wine braised chicken thighs with sage!  Now, when I say braised, I mean a 30 – 45 minute braise, not the 6 hour kind of braise.  I know, low and slow is better, but I didn’t have that kind of time.  So here it goes:

IMG_3367 - Copy

4 chicken thighs – bone in, skin on

12 – 15 fresh sage leaves

1 small onion

1 clove garlic

1/4 C white wine

1/4 C chicken broth

4 Tbsp. unsalted butter

salt and pepper

 

Rinse and pat dry the chicken thighs.  Salt and pepper both sides.  Melt butter in a Dutch oven over medium high heat.  Add chicken thighs and brown on both sides.  Once both are browned, leave skins side up.  Add onion, garlic and sage.  Sauté for 1 –2 minutes.  Reduce heat to medium.  Add wine and broth.  Stir and cover for 30 min.

IMG_3370 - Copy

It was actually pretty good.  My son and husband both asked for seconds.  I served it with roasted carrots and sweet potato in a maple syrup glaze.  By glaze, I mean drizzled over the top.  I do what I can.   

Happy Thanksgiving!  I wish everyone safe travels and enjoying their family!  I am thankful that you are reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

